Tips on using the LilyGo T-Display / Touch boards with SquareLine Studio

I have spent several hours today fathoming out what was happening with code generated using SLS on my LilyGo T-Display and T-Display Touch ESP32S3 boards, which were causing no end of issues. Thought it might be beneficial if I wrote up my tips for any other users of these pretty decent ESP32S3 development boards in an attempt to avoid anyone else experiencing the same pain and frustration as I have over the last few days!!. For clarity, for the purposes of these suggestions / tips, I use the ArduinoIDE2 app on a Mac. Also please let it be known I am not a professional developer by any stretch of the imagination, just - as like many of us here I imagine - an enthusiastic self taught wannabe :slight_smile:

The boards I am referring are available here: T-Display-S3 – LILYGO®

They have a pretty decent GitHub page where you can find the factory code and some other examples to try out in your IDE. Squareline Studio makes extensive use of the TFT_eSPI library and it MUST be noted that to use the LilyGo T-Display boards with TFT_eSPI one must use the modified TFT_eSPI library in the /lib folder from the LilyGo T-Display-S3 GitHub page linked above.

1. Once you have completed your project in SquareLine Studio, and have done the Export > Create Template Project and Export > Export UI Files you will need to replace the TFT_eSPI folder and importantly one additional file.

2. Replace the folder…

your-project/libraries/TFT_eSPI

… with the one downloaded from LilyGo GitHub repository

1. Repalce the file…

/your-project/libraries/lv_conf.h

… with the one downloaded from LilyGo GitHub repository

1. You may have to edit the lv_conf.h file to ensure that line 30 shows:

#define LV_COLOR_16_SWAP 0

1. Launch your-project.ino file using ArduinoIDE